Is Chai Tea Latte Gluten Free? GF & Dairy-Free Options

December 31, 2023

Is Chai Tea Latte gluten-free? A natural question to ask if you suffer from gluten allergies and follow a gluten-free diet. And if you have celiac disease, more reason to question products with potential gluten-containing ingredients.

Disclosure: Some of the links in this article may be affiliate links, which can provide a small commission to me at no cost to you if you decide to make a purchase. You can read more in my disclaimer here

Chai Tea Lattes are a highly desired selection at coffee shops offering an aromatic spice blend and comforting warmth. It’s no wonder it’s always a big hit. 

The good news is, that it’s not difficult to find a chai tea latte that is gluten-free. Even better if you make it yourself using chai tea bags or use drink mixes with a gluten-friendly blend of black tea. 

On the other hand, store-bought chai tea lattes run the risk of cross-contamination. Something you would need to look out for and question before buying if a Starbucks chai latte is more your thing. 

Whether you opt for a store-bought latte or choose to do it yourself, getting the lowdown on the ingredients list is key. Especially if you want to reap the health benefits. 

So if you’re ready for a chai tea latte experience you can enjoy without the gluten, keep reading…

A Chai Tea Latte can easily be made gluten-free. Simply pay attention to the ingredient list and ensure it is not cross-contaminated with gluten food products. 

You’ll want to make sure your latte is made with pure simple ingredients and no additional junk stuff. 

The key lies in selecting gluten-free tea blends. Also in ensuring that any added sweeteners and milk alternatives are free from gluten. 

Traditional chai spice ingredients like ground cinnamon, cardamom, ginger, and cloves are naturally gluten-free. Plus, these healthy ingredients provide natural flavors that enhance your chai tea experience.

For a cleaner version, opt for gluten-free non dairy creamer or milk alternatives such as almond, soy, coconut, or oat milk.

However, the risk of cross-contamination in both the tea blend and the manufacturing process does exist. So don’t be afraid to ask questions. It will help you confirm and maintain the gluten-free integrity of your chai indulgence. 

By making informed choices, checking the ingredient label, and asking questions, you can savor the deliciousness of a gluten free Chai Tea Latte without compromising your dietary needs.

Chai Tea Latte Gluten-Free Options

From drink mixes to store-bought drink options, chai tea lattes are a favorite among many. You can easily make it yourself or head over to your local Starbucks to buy it ready-made. 

Coconut Cloud Chai Tea Latte

My preferred method is to make it yourself. Without the gluten ingredients of course. It’s easy to make and what better way than to have access to one of your favorite drinks whenever you want? Right from the comfort of your own home!

All you have to do is add hot water to the powder mix, stir well, and enjoy. Add nut milk for extra creaminess. 

Coconut Cloud uses only the finest black tea in its Chai Tea Latte mix. Plus, it’s vegan, dairy-free, soy-free, certified gluten-free, non-GMO, and made in a dedicated gluten-free facility.

Below are the ingredients it contains:

  • Organic cane sugar
  • Coconut cream powder
  • Black tea
  • Acacia fiber
  • Rice starch
  • MCT oil powder
  • Star Anise
  • Cinnamon
  • Ginger
  • Sea salt
  • Oil of nutmeg
  • Extracts from Cardamon and Cloves

Coconut Cloud Chai Tea Latte is a good source of energy and healthy fats. It also contains less sugar than other chai tea products out there. 

It’s a great choice if you’re looking for a delicious and healthy chai tea latte that is also vegan and dairy-free. 

For an iced chai latte on a warm day, simply add ice to make it a refreshing gluten-free drink.

Where to Buy Coconut Cloud Chai Tea Latte Mix

You can buy it direct at Coconut Cloud with free shipping over $50. You may also be able to find it at some local grocery stores or get free shipping when you buy it on Amazon with Amazon Prime.

Starbucks Chai Tea Latte

If you are a fan of Starbucks, then you’ll know that their Chai Tea Latte is generally gluten-free. The only thing is that Starbucks gluten-free drinks are not 100% clear of gluten. 

The reason is that they prepare all of their products in a shared environment. Which includes products that contain gluten. Something to consider if you struggle with gluten-related disorders. 

You may also want to opt out of getting steamed milk. The steamer wands are contaminated since they are shared across drinks. And if you choose to still have milk added, you can request they use a clean milk pitcher to play it safe. ​This will prevent further contamination.  

You can get more info on the Starbucks website HERE

What makes Chai Tea Latte from Starbucks unhealthy?

The milk and pre-sweetened chai tea concentrate used to prepare the drink is what makes it unhealthy. The fact that they use a premade chai tea concentrate typically means high sugar.

While the milk on the other hand packs a punch of saturated fat and cholesterol. Additionally, these unhealthy substances pile on the calories.

Final Thoughts

The best gluten-free option when it comes to your favorite chai drinks is the one you can make yourself. This way you know exactly what gets put into it resting assured it’s safe for you to drink. 

It makes for a healthier drink option and you can sip away with ease knowing you won’t have a gluten episode. 

Picture of Sandra Campillo

Sandra Campillo

Sandra Campillo is an eco, vegan lifestyle and travel blogger and entrepreneur. Join Sandra and her community of readers on to learn how to live a healthier, more sustainable, and compassionate way of life.

Sandra's Story
Sandra Campillo
Shopping cart