Clean, Toxic-Free Vegan Wine from Winc

Naturally one would think there would be no animal derived products in wine. After all, wine is made from grapes and yeast. How can it possibly have animal products? 

If you’re vegetarian, vegan or care about the animals and the environment, it’s always important to learn more about a product before buying it. Look at the ingredients, question what is in the item(s) you are looking to buy. Because whatever is in it, rest assured, it will be going into your bloodstream in one form or another. If not through the skin or nose, it will be by mouth. 

Which is why it’s important to know what you are eating, what household products you are using, and what you are drinking. And we all know that drinking is a huge part of our lifestyle. Whether it be water, juice, smoothies, or alcoholic beverages. 

Keeping your food and household supplies clean and toxic-free is essential. So are your beverages and cocktails.  

So how is wine not considered vegan? 

By use of a technique called “fining.”  This clarification and stabilization technique is used in the final winemaking process to remove the cloudiness, discolorings and flavors, and other organic particles that fine tune the clarity and taste of the wine. 

This process of “fining” involves the use of animal by-products that include blood and bone marrow, casein (milk protein), chitin (fiber from crustacean shells), egg albumen from egg whites, fish oil, gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts), and isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes). 

This is not only unethical but disgusting if you ask me! 

The thought of any of this groceness going into my drink makes me sick. And, if you weren’t aware of this, you are now. These are things you don’t know because they don’t ever state it unless you research it. It’s something I never knew until I started living a healthy vegan lifestyle and began digging deeper into everything I used and consumed. 

Thankfully, there is a much cleaner, animal-friendly alternative to the non-vegan fining process. By using fining agents like carbon, bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, and vegetable plaques, wine is made vegan. 

Where to find vegan wine

Winc is a great online option that carries a wide variety of vegan wines and they are always adding more.

Get 4 bottles for just $29.95.

You can also check your local wine stops, health food stores or anywhere that might sell wine. Most liquor or wine stores will order upon request. 

Visit my Amazon store for my lifestyle essentials!
 
Download the LIKEtoKNOWit app and follow me at @sandracampillo_ for exclusive content. Follow me on Instagram to connect them both. If you love to shop like I do, you’re going to love the LTK app!
 
For your convenience, this post contains affiliate links. I earn a small commission if you shop through my links. This is at no cost to you but it does help to support my blog and mission to inspire others to a healthy, happy and compassionate lifestyle. You can find the full disclosure here.

Leave a Comment